I am tracking my VyOS config in source control to note changes over time.
One issue doing this is after an upgrade, the post upgrade rewrites all fields in the form:
(across the entire config file, e.g. network 192.168.112.0/24 to network “192.168.112.0/24” as well)
this is fine… but then when I make a small change to the config, the entire config is then saved back to the form…
meaning a whole bunch of un-necessary (to me) cosmetic changes checked to source control twice every time I do a VyOS upgrade.
I am copying my config just with
scp vyos@server:/config/config.boot /my/source-control/config.boot
after every change though.
is this intended behaviour? is there a better way I should be doing this? is there a way to control this behaviour?