Assigning Static Address to etho in VyOS AWS Instance When Config Is Set for DHCP

I am new to VyOS and want to experiment with it a bit in Amazon web services before possibly deploying in a home lab. My first goal is to create a VyOS NAT instance in Amazon Web Services to allow instances in a private subnet to access the internet.

The address space for the virtual private cloud is 10.0.0.0/16 with a public subnet of 10.0.0.0/24 and a private subnet of 10.0.1.0/24.

I built a VyOS instance with eth0 in the public subnet at 10.0.0.10 and eth1 in the private subnet at 10.0.1.0. In addition, I assigned an elastic IP address to eth0.

I was able to deploy the instance based on the AMI provided in the AMI marketplace, connected via SSH and started to configure it to suit my needs. I was able to get the repositories as needed to upgrade the image to the VyOS 1.1.6.

I ran into some problems when configuring eth0 and eth1.

Even though eth0 appeared correctly at 10.0.0.10, the configuration indicated a DHCP address for that interface when I had assigned it a static private address.

I attempted to change this by executing:

configure
delete interfaces ethernet eth0 address dhcp
set interfaces ethernet eth0 address ‘10.0.0.10/24’
commit
save

When I save the change the ssh session hung. I rebooted from the AWS console but was unable to get back into the system.

I redeployed as before but this time edited /config/config.boot to make the change and then rebooted the system.

I was back in the same position as I had been before, namely, I was unable to connect via SSH directly using the public address assigned by AWS to eth0 that has worked successfully before, or by using SSH from another instance in the 10.0.0.0 subnet.

I’m stumped. All I am trying to do is tell VyOS that it’s got a good static address.

Any idea what I’ve run into?