Basic Site to Site OpenVPN between PfSense 2.2.1 and Vyos 1.1.4

After banging my head for a while how to achieve site to site vpn through openvpn between PfSense and Vyos I finally ended with the following working configuration and wanted to share it, maybe it will help to someone like me. Please note that by no means I am not a vyos expert, to be honest I installed it out of curiosity 20 days ago (and now there is no turning back, great job, thank you guys), kvm virtualized on top of ProxmoxVE 3.3-5 running on SuperMicro A1SRI-2758F-O with just 512mb ram and it is running flawlessly since day one, so don’t crucify me :slight_smile:

On the PfSense router create an OpenVPN Server with the following settings

1. Server mode – Peer to Peer Shared Key
  2. Protocol – UDP
  3. Device mode – tun
  4. Interface – WAN
  5. Local Port – 33458 (could be whatever you want)
  6. Description – testvpn
  7. Shared Key – Tick Automatically generate, needs to be copied to vyos /config/auth
  8. Encryption algorithm – BF-CBC-128 bit (could be different, needs to match both ends)
  9. Auth Digest Alghorithm – SHA1 (default for openvpn, could be different, needs to match both ends)
  10. Hardware crypto – No
  11. IPv4 Tunnel network – 10.10.199.0/24 – could be any private network as long as it is unique for both ends
  12. IPv4 Local Network – 192.168.5.0/24 – LAN network behind PfSense, you can have more than one comma separated networks, change it to match yours
  13. IPv4 Remote Networks – 192.168.25.0/24 – Lan network behind VyOS, again you can have more than one comma separated networks, change it to match yours
  14. Concurrent Connections – As much as you need
  15. Compression – Enabled With Adaptive Compression

Config could be exported through Shared Key Export tab, it looks like this:

dev tun
persist-tun
persist-key
proto udp
cipher BF-CBC
auth SHA1
pull
resolv-retry infinite
remote your dynamic host name or Real IP 33458
route local lan IP and Subnet Mask