Bridge, VM guest gets dhcp but can't ping router

Hi! This might be a total noob question.

I have set up my bridge on Virtualbox (7.0.8 r156879) with VyOS 1.2.9-S1.
set service ssh
set interfaces bridge br0
set interfaces ethernet eth0 bridge-group bridge br0
set interfaces ethernet eth1 bridge-group bridge br0
set interfaces bridge br0 address dhcp

The local network is already set up with dhcp and internet access via the router. I have a bridge in VirtualBox with 1 bridged adapter (using my wifi card) and 1 on the internal net. I have another vyos VM with 1 interface on the internal network just using “set interfaces… address dhcp” and it grabs the a correct address from the local dhcp server.

I can also ping out from my guest VM to my local wifi card address on the local net, my other VM with only a bridged adapter using my wifi card, and my bridge. Pings to the router on the local network fail and same to quad8 or any other local devices I found on the arp table. arp fails to resolve the local domain names for the boxes on the local network that have them, and route shows the router ip.

I’m at a total loss, does anyone know if I’m making any stupid mistakes?

Is this potentially a VirtualBox only problem? I tried VMware but I can’t get it to allow prolific mode so the bridge won’t even work. I’d rather figure out the problem now than not have a clue on the next customer install

I think you have configured it backwards in Virtualbox.

I think what you want to do is to first enable the amount of interfaces you want Virtualbox to expose to the VyOS image - lets say all 4 which is available through GUI (if you want more you must use VBoxManage in the console of the host).

Then configure all these as “bridged” in Virtualbox.

This way your single physical interface (normally if you run this on a desktop) will “switch” the traffic to the 4 virtual interfaces which VyOS will then be able to see.