Client can ping, but can not curl (or browse)

Hi, i’m newbie here…

i already install and configure Vyos on my network. it goes like this::

internet <-------> gateway <--------> vyos <---------> client
-----------------------------eth0---------eth0-eth1-----------eth0

gateway et0: x.x.x.x
vyos eth0: y.y.y.y (connect to internet)
vyos eth1: 192.168.5.20 (connect to intranet)
client eth0: 192.168.5.67

this is the config i made:
Capture1 Capture2 Capture3 Capture4 Capture5edit

i already set the ip, gateway, and name server on the client manually.

the output:

1. from vyos, i can ping and curl any internet address, including the intranet client
  2. from client (192.168.5.67), i can ping to any internet address (ip and domain) including other client, but i can not curl (or browse) to the internet.

is there any config missing here? please help. thx…

Hi!

The address in your nat source ... translation field, is that the same address thats configured on your ethernet interface? (its hard to tell because you’ve blanked out all octets of the address)

if thats the case you should use ... translation address masquerade instead to make it function properly.
The syntax you are using is men’t to be used when packets are routed into your device using other addresses than the interface-address.

also, on the incoming side(destination nat), you only need this part if you have services on your inside lan that you are going to expose to the internet. For normal outbound nat this is not needed. When you use the interface-address you don’t need to specify a destination address, but you will need to specify the ports that needs to be forwarded.

Also have a look at this documentation: NAT — VyOS 1.4.x (sagitta) documentation for examples

yes, it is the same sir. i’m sorry for some reason i hide it.

i use 1-on-1 NAT based on vyos documentation below. and i use it because the client actually is a server.
Capture10