DHCP Proxy Setup

Hey, I am new to VyOS and I am in the process of setting up a switch running 1.3-rolling-202012141037. I have created the bridge( br0 ) with several interfaces and things seem to be working as expected with it. I can plug different computers into the interfaces assigned to br0, manually assign each computer an IP, and they all seem to communicate with one another. Cool thing is the 10GB interfaces are pretty much hitting 10GB on throughput. Yeah, major accomplishment and goal for this project.

Now the issue I am fighting and need some help it. I have a few 1GB interface cards in br0 I need to assign DHCP & DNS info to. The VyOS machine has two things, the bridge br0 and eth0. eth0 is connected to an existing DHCP server. Some how I would like a couple of things connected the bridge br0 1GB interfaces to be able to talk to the DHCP server on the other end of eth0 to get IP address and DNS info.

I think I might be able to be done with creating a DHCP on the VyOS service that mimics the existing DHCP server on eth0 and then set up the dhcp-relay info. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to Vyos! Great to hear your 10G is working as you wanted! :slight_smile:

I think you want DHCP relay - you want DHCP packets on br0 to be forwarded out to the DHCP server on eth0.

https://docs.vyos.io/en/latest/configuration/service/dhcp-relay.html

If you look at the diagram on that page, but replace it’s eth1 with br0 and it’s DHCP server of 10.0.1.4 with the IP address of your DHCP server on eth0, you should be away.

Thanks for the tip. I did see that before, but I think I messed the config up on the first couple of tries. I think I have gotten really close now with the following:

set service dhcp-relay server 192.168.4.1
set service dhcp-relay relay-options relay-agents-packet discard
set service dhcp-relay interface br0

The following commands now creates an entry like from the doc:
dhcp-relay {
interface br0
relay-options {