Fanless hardware choice

Can you recommend something overpowered which I will keep as long as hardware is not damaged?

I know there is VyOS Hardware Compatibility List – VyOS but it doesn’t make a choice easy and there is only 4 fanless devices without information how many VAN port is builded in.I didn’t find the page friendly for me.

I don’t have experience with choosing hardware for such purpose. It is my first time and I don’t want to invest month to learn which hardware is good one and which is bad one.

Hardware needs:

• fanless
  • 2x WAN
  • no wi-fi in router, I will make AP

Network design and my needs:

• wireless router

• 2x WAN

• firewall (on the same device as router is unless it is not recommended by security concern)

• wi-fi AP or mesh device on each floor. So I don’t have to change wifi AP when moving between floor to have stronger signal. I don’t feel it make sense router to have wi-fi. I would like to keep this devices separately. It makes more sense for me, unless I miss something.

• the router has public IP

• port forwarding to some services like for example Home Assistant for Smart Home. Why port forwarding instead of VPN? VPN drain batter in phone faster.

• up to 5 VPN client connections

• up to 5 computers including PS5 plus some less important devices connected to the network like printer etc.

Hi @kwladyka, welcome to the Vyos Forums!

There are many little fanless boxes these days and I’m not going to try and recommend any individual one. Personally I have a QOTOM box with 4 ports and that’s done me well, though I’ve had issues with mine powering off unexpectedly (this doesn’t seem to be something that happens to anyone else and since I swapped out the RAM it hasn’t done it)