How to create a CLI shell?

I would like to write a tiny shell for a Linux system I am running.
Since I do not have any experience in this field I thought that the developers of VyOS might give me a good advice on where to start.

Hi @elico , I’m not really a developer, but from what you’re looking for, I think you can take a look to the “argparse” python module which is pretty simple in usage.

argparse doc - argparse — Parser for command-line options, arguments and sub-commands — Python 3.11.3 documentation

usage example from pyneng course - argparse - Python for network engineers

Not required a VyOS developer but someone that understands the concept.
What I want to do is an interactive shell rather a simple CLI tool.
I have seen clish but since it requires XML I believe it’s not the right tool for me.

What I need is something like what VyOS and other embedded devices like EdgeOS and JunOS has.
An interactive shell that I can set values with and then to apply them later on to a DB.
I want to be able to set values and also if possible evaluate some of the definitions.
I have seen that bash completion is pretty nice but I am not sure what would be the right tool for me.

Oh got it now. Then you may also check something like click and click-shell

Hi @elico! This is not a “mini/tiny shell” in general, but I can tell you a bit about the inner workings of vyos… :slight_smile:

Vyos’es main cli is based around a bash fork named vyatta-bash or vbash, This is an old fork of bash 4.1 that atm. is over 10years old. This is a normal bash that also implements a few special commands (eg. show…) and creates the “configuration” sub-mode that is lacking from a standard bash, on top of this special bash there is created a configuration system, called vyatta-cfg. It implements the the set/delete/commit++ special commands inside this sub-mode.