How to submit patches?

Hi,

I’m really not a developer and subsequently unfamiliar with Github. My reading has led me to believe that I should really be cloning the Github project I wish to contribute to, instead of forking it. Is there possibly documentation or ideally ‘speed notes’ on the preferred way I should be submitting patches?

From what I’ve been able to scratch together thus far:

cd /home/user;
git clone https://github.com/vyos/vyatta-cfg-quagga vyos_vyatta-cfg-quagga;
cd vyos_vyatta-cfg-quagga;
pico .git/config;
  # Change URL to SSH so that public key authentication works, eg:
  url = ssh://git@github.com/vyos/vyatta-cfg-quagga.git

# Updating my local copy:
cd /home/user/vyos_vyatta-cfg-quagga;
git pull;

# Create a branch to contain commits
git checkout -b additional_frr_commands

# Switch between master and branches:
git branch;           # -a shows all branches on the parent at Github
git checkout master;
git checkout additional_frr_commands;

# Create a commit:
git checkout additional_frr_commands;
pico directory/new_file;
git status;
  git add directory/new_file;
git commit -s -m "New function to do something";

Questions:

• How do I now submit these back to the project for review? I understand that I should create an item in Phabricator and reference this in the submission but what commands do I run to upload my branch to the relevant project?

Regards
David Herselman

Hi David,

At this point, Diffusion (the Phabricator source hosting module) is a read-only mirror that is only used to enable automatic linking of commits with tasks, and as a backup for the case things go seriously wrong with Github.

Right now you can attach a patch as a file to a Phabricator task. Since it’s an uncommon workflow, you should mention it prominently in the task that you’ve attached a patch.