IPv6 RA: how do you advertise the gateway address as DNS to clients?

I’m moving from pfSense and this is my first time using vyos. So I apologize for the simple question.

## WAN
set interfaces ethernet hn0 description 'WAN'
set interfaces ethernet hn0 address 'dhcpv6'
set interfaces ethernet hn0 dhcpv6-options pd 0 length '60'

set interfaces ethernet hn0 dhcpv6-options pd 0 interface hn1 sla-id '1'
set interfaces ethernet hn0 dhcpv6-options pd 0 interface hn2 sla-id '2'

## LAN
set interfaces ethernet hn1 description 'LAN'
set interfaces ethernet hn1 ipv6 address autoconf

## DMZ
set interfaces ethernet hn2 description 'DMZ'
set interfaces ethernet hn2 ipv6 address autoconf

## RA
set service router-advert interface hn1 other-config-flag
set service router-advert interface hn1 prefix ::/64
set service router-advert interface hn1 name-server ???

set service router-advert interface hn2 other-config-flag
set service router-advert interface hn2 prefix ::/64
set service router-advert interface hn2 name-server ???

How do I advertise to LAN and DMZ clients the gateway (vyos router itself) as name-server?

Hi there. Are you running dual-stack? If so, how are the IPv4 clients getting their DNS server option? The same server should be able to be used for AAAA lookup. What’s the use-case?

Yes, I’m running a dual stack.

IPv4 clients are getting DNS via DHCP. But I want only SLAAC for IPv6 since Android doesn’t support DHCPv6.

The use case is to setup a split DNS using:

set system static-host-mapping host-name ...

Is RDNSS supported? Is RA automatically providing the IPv6 address of the gateway if none are specified?

I’m not entirely well-versed in IPv6 but your situation sounds similar to my home network which is why I’m asking what the end goal is. I use SLAAC for IPv6 but I’m only declaring my DNS servers from my IPv4 DHCP servers with IPv4 addresses. The clients “are smart enough” to ask for the AAAA record.