(SOLVED) How to get VXLAN on VyOS 1.1.8 or VyOS 1.2.0-rc8 working?

I’m trying to get VXLAN working for the first time, I’ve never used it before.

I spent all today trying to get VXLAN to work.

I only found two example configurations when searching google, one on VyOS documentation WIKI and another tutorial at Reddit - Dive into anything URL.

I’m testing this out in VirtualBox first before trying to implement it on my production network.

I’ve got 4 VyOS routers r1 ↔ r2 ↔ r3 ↔ r4, my goal is to have r1 and r4 on the same LAN 10.255.15.0/24 with r1 = 10.255.15.101/24 and r4 as 10.255.15.102/24.

r2 and r3 are the “link” routers that communicate via VXLAN setup between each other. r2 = 1.1.1.1/24, r3 = 1.1.1.2/24.

Here is my configuration on r2:
interfaces {
bridge br15 {
address 10.255.15.1/24
aging 300
hello-time 2
max-age 20
priority 0
stp false
}
ethernet eth0 {
bridge-group {
bridge br15
}
duplex auto
hw-id 08:00:27:90:8e:d6
smp_affinity auto
speed auto
}
ethernet eth1 {
address 1.1.1.1/24
duplex auto
hw-id 08:00:27:8d:9e:c3
smp_affinity auto
speed auto
}
ethernet eth2 {
address dhcp
duplex auto
hw-id 08:00:27:bc:98:1b
smp_affinity auto
speed auto
}
loopback lo {
}
vxlan vxlan15 {
bridge-group {
bridge br15
}
group 239.0.0.15
link eth1
vni 15
}
}
system {
config-management {
commit-revisions 20
}
console {
device ttyS0 {
speed 9600
}
}
host-name vyos
login {
user vyos {
authentication {
encrypted-password $1$6ndBU0vK$0fI7beXbfjN.UW1Gq4yqN/
plaintext-password “”
}
level admin
}
}
ntp {
server 0.pool.ntp.org {
}
server 1.pool.ntp.org {
}
server 2.pool.ntp.org {
}
}
package {
auto-sync 1
repository community {
components main
distribution helium
password “”
url http://packages.vyos.net/vyos
username “”
}
}
syslog {
global {
facility all {
level notice
}
facility protocols {
level debug
}
}
}
time-zone UTC
}

/* Warning: Do not remove the following line. /
/