[VRRP] startup-delay prevents preemption with lower preempt-delay

Hey guys!

Before opening a bug report, I wanted to share my observations to make sure there is no misunderstanding at my part.
We have a testing environment with two routers (router1 and router2) with a bunch of VRRP interfaces. After updating from 1.3.2 LTS to 1.3.3 LTS I was testing the global startup-delay for VRRP. The config for router1 looks like this:

# show high-availability vrrp 
 global-parameters {
     startup-delay 30
 }
 group adm {
     address 10.236.250.65/27 {
     }
     hello-source-address 10.236.250.66
     interface eth10
     peer-address 10.236.250.67
     preempt-delay 10
     priority 200
     vrid 65
 }

router2 has the exact same configuration except for a lower priority. While VRRP in general is still working just fine, I noticed that when I reboot router1, it takes a very long time (about 8 minutes) for preemption to kick in and setting router1 as the master again.
I started playing around with different values for startup-delay and preempt-delay and noticed some behaviour I do not quite understand.

Here is a summary:

• with startup-delay 30 and no preempt-delay configured, preemption takes way longer than expected
  • in order for preemption to work with the configured preempt-delay, startup-delay needs to be configured with a lower value than preempt-delay
  • a relatively high value for startup-delay like 120 prevents preemption entirely (at least in the 20 minute timeframe I observed)

The same is true for 1.4-rolling-202307110317 btw.

Am I missing here something or is this a bug?

well ,we some concept that are no compatible ,startup-delay is used when we want no-preempt the router after restart :

https://docs.vyos.io/en/latest/configuration/highavailability/index.html#cfgcmd-set-high-availability-vrrp-global-parameters-startup-delay-1-600

so it shouldn’t use with prepend delay which is used to wait X second to wait to the master router when it fails :