Vyatta/VyOS internals

Hi:
I’m trying to understand the internal architecture of the Vyatta, specially so I understand what I can and can’t do in terms of adding new packages on a running machine.
I understand that underneath it uses Debian and makes use of Unionfs, but I trying to understand how the unionfs is used (I assume to have clean conig copies), what is persistent between reboots, what is RO and what is not, what gets wiped during a reboot and so forth.
I’m hoping somebody has a Vyatta Internal manual/presentation!
I’m an experienced Linux admin and manage 48 Vyattas at this point, so I’m really looking for the hardcore stuff 8-)!
Thanks
Paulo

It’s really just debian repos. The problem you’ll have is every image-upgrade (the only supported update method) will wipe out any additional deb’s you’ve installed. In terms of persistence, I think everything under /config and a few select other files (copied during the ‘add system image’ process).

The approach I’ve been taking is building custom deb’s, installing them (manually or via a self-hosted repo) and then if I’m happy with something, I’ll bake an ISO against latest release with my changes.

The changes I’ve done so far have been relatively minor though, although I’m wanting to extend with some other open source tools.

I’m interested to know what packages you are planning to add too if you are willing to share?

Regards,

Chris

Chris:
Appreciate the answer. I’m planning on installing snort, so I have a IDS inspecting the traffic as it flows though the Vyatta.
Do you have more information about the “add system image” process? I initially thought that basically that would add a new kernel, but I realized that it must also update some other system binaries, but now I’m not sure anymore.
Thanks
Paulo