VyOS Firewall Configuration GUI -- my little project

So, I have been working on a little project and I am ready to open it for some thoughts and feedback.

I come from a Linux background and love the command line… BUT, I feel like some things, like firewalls, are easier to build in a more visual manner. Less thinking about the command syntax and if I have included all the necessary parts of a rule more about the structure of the rules. Additionally, my start with VyOS-like firewalls was on the Ubiquiti EdgeRouters and I liked their web GUI for the firewall.

To that end, I have been building a web app to visually build the firewall configuration for VyOS 1.4+, which I have been running via the rolling release for about 2 years. I would love to get some constructive feedback.

Keep in mind that the GUI does not directly edit the firewall or make calls to the CLI. Rather it build the CLI commands based on the GUI configuration. You can then cp/paste or download a .cfg file with the full CLI commands to create the firewall on your VyOS firewall.

Again, I am looking for constructive input. The code is licensed with the MIT license and available on GitHub. The tool is a Flask app (my first) and is packaged and available on Docker HUB for x86_64 and ARM64. In addition, full working version is available at https://vyos-fw-gui.com.

Source code: https://github.com/ibehren1/vyos-fw-gui
Docker Hub: https://hub.docker.com/repository/docker/ibehren1/vyos-fw-gui/general
Working Demo: https://vyos-fw-gui.com

6 Likes

The working demo doesnt work, it wants a user/pass (but was easy to bypass since creating an account doesnt seem to verify the email).

I assume flowtable have been added to the options (couldnt find it)?

Perhaps other default options for firewall could be added aswell as configurable options?

The white text on yellow background is terrible to read (same with black text on darkgrey background).