VyOS rolling + Full BGP + ssh ram usage

Hi ALL

I’m new to VyOS community.
These days I installed and set up vyos as DC router with full bgp from my provider(first of, next days I’ll get connected with second provider). After changed from default route to full bgp, RAM usage increased (as expected). But what wasn’t expected, I can’t connect more than one ssh session to vyos, because every ssh session increase RAM usage by ~1.3GB. My VM with vyos have 4GB of RAM.
When I try to connect second session, in log it gives:
sshd[4399]: fatal: fork of unprivileged child failed
I think this is because of insufficient RAM for reservation, I am right?
It’s a normal thing that every ssh-session “eat” 1.3 GB of RAM?

My VyOS setup: (sh ver)
Version: VyOS 1.3-rolling-202006150117
Release Train: equuleus

Built by: autobuild@vyos.net
Built on: Mon 15 Jun 2020 01:17 UTC
Build UUID: ab90d6b2-8f3c-4d8e-8022-50606d6ffa9b
Build Commit ID: 1dfa9a3c7cce72

Architecture: x86_64
Boot via: installed image
System type: VMware guest

Thanks in advance.

Hi @AlexB

This does not normal. Can you share you atop files? You can find these files in /var/log/atop/

Ok, put the last, today’s atop file, because today the problem appear.atop_20200619.log (761.1 KB)

Also, I want to mention that if I logout from ssh, and watch htop by console, ram get back. So, only after login via ssh, over-ram get used.

Hello @AlexB, can you provide a screenshot with VM configuration? I see really odd situation in atop log file.

Hi,
it’s a 4 x core, 4GB RAM, 8GB HDD and 5 network cards.
But strange in screenshot, because I “killed” vyos user. I’m using another user to manage router.Screenshot_20200620_101529

Very odd, I can’t reach this behavior in my test VyOS router on ESXi, even with deleted vyos user.

Hi,

today, after do a reboot of vyos for testing some stuff, problem has gone away, unexpected as come :slight_smile: