Vyos VRRP at home

Sorry this is beginner question but I am not a network engineer I just dabble with what I do not know =)

Today my ISP delivers a fiber via an SFP+ transceiver to my home. What would be the requirements to use Vyos as a HA firewall/router?

Do I need to be provided with 2 “public” ip’s from my ISP, since I assume the virtual adress is just an internal one ?

How would I physically connect my ISP’s transceiver? Would I need a switch infront where I connect wan ports and isp together?

Running a proxmox cluster and would be nice to be able to reboot a node without loosing internet connectivity.

Edit: wouldn’t I want my single public IP to be moved to the backup Vyos?

Cheers

Hi,

Do make it short, I would get a 8 switch with an SFP slot (or SFP+, since this is different check your SFP Modul).

I would then attach two router the switch with wan port. The two lan ports to your internal switch.

This will split the single fiber to two ports.

For the vyos vrrp setup this really depends on what your ISP delivers. Do you have pppoe dialup or do you get the public IP via DHCP?

Vrrp allows two nodes to communicate heartbeat with private range IPs and the failover a public IP on the interface. But so see how and what you can do we need to know how you geht your IP from the isp.

Ah and also you can attach the SFP to your internal switch if it is managed and create a dedicated vlan for the SFP port and have the vlan at two virtualization nodes uplink Ports and then set the virtual nix for wan untagged in the vlan.

I have 10gigabit delivery from my ISP so switching to sfp would kind of not be so nice =)

My ISP delivers a public ipv4 over DHCP locked to my networks card mac address. But I belive they deliver multiple ipv6(investigating this currently). So my option is to see if I can get rid on the mac locking then for ipv6 or ipv4.