Weird questions about BGP and what I could do

Hi there,

I’m new to VyOS, and not much used to speak about routing techniques and stuff. But I started testing and using VyOS, with the main purpose of building a managed Kubernetes service using VyOS as router, firewall, NAT and load-balancer, over VMware ESX.

I chose to try VyOS because I needed an easily configurable, terraformable routing OS. Of course, in the VMware environment we can have NSX-T but I can’t use it yet for two reasons : it’s not available yet for us, and the provider will charge us 30% more if we enable it…

This is why I started looking, and found VyOS, which I really think is THE tool we can use to achieve what we want.

And actually, it already is… here’s what I managed to do so far :slight_smile: :

• Build a terraformable, cloud-init enabled VyOS and deploy it using Terraform with a minimal configuration
  • Install kube-vip on a Kubernetes cluster behind VyOS, and use BGP and a private virtual IP to automatically load balance my services.
  • (In progress) Create an automated tool who listens to the Kubernetes state, automatically opens (or closes) a port on the VyOS firewall, and uses NAT to redirect traffic to this virtual IP.

Here’s the actual configuration :

• VyOS with eth0 on WAN (with one or multiple possible public IPs) and eth1 on LAN
  • K8S cluster behind this eth1
  • virtual, private IP on the same IP range as the local machines, advertised with BGP thanks to kube-vip

But I’m wondering if I could do more…
I’m starting to wonder if I could advertise public IPs with BGP from inside the private network, and have VyOS take them into account and route traffic through eth1 using these public IPs…
Of course, eth0 would also have to have this IP set, in order to receive traffic from the WAN.

For instance :

• for now :
    • VyOS has, say, public IP 8.8.8.8 set on eth0
    • My cluster is behind eth1, on the 192.168.1.0 network