Building LTS/non-rolling release images for development purposes

I am a developer who has made minor contributions to VyOS in the past (mostly in 2022). In most instances during testing of the relevant bug fix or feature submission there was a requirement to test against existing LTS releases. There are also times where a feature submission/bugfix is only applicable to the LTS release and not “current”.

Given the changes mentioned in the recent blog post as well as the general consensus here it seems like there’s no way to build VyOS images for any reason any more, at least not easily according to the discussion here.

The online docs here seem to still reference the same build steps as what I recall doing back when I contributed which do not seem to work anymore but I don’t see any other instructions with respect to the whole “building each package one at a time and assembling into an image” process.

While I have my own opinions on the decision to deny access to the LTS repository for image building purposes, my main question mainly tackles the “how to contribute” angle:

Is there any readily available method to build a VyOS LTS image for debugging/testing/developing purposes? If not, does this imply that new contributors (or old ones wanting to submit new changes) must figure out how the whole image is constructed before submitting PRs against LTS branches?

I do not have much experience with Jenkins (mainly work with GitLab CI) or the intricacies of debian package management but I was able to successful submit PRs against vyos-1x and vyos-build given the (relatively) straightforward build instructions (especially the container-based approaches). Would this mean any future contributions makes these things prerequisite knowledge?

2 Likes

My best guess is that all new development goes into (currently) 1.5-rolling (branch:current) which you can still compile easily on your own today.