VyOS 1.2.0 build for 586?

Hi,

I hoping to use VyOS for my home router. I have an PC Engines ALIX 3C board with an AMD Geode processor on it - 586 architecture. I have successfully installed VyOS 1.1.8 on it.

But given that I am new to VyOS, it would make sense to start with 1.2.0 but there doesn’t seem to be a 586 build of it? Will that be coming in the future?

Thanks,

nick.

Hi Nicholas,
There is nothing that prevents one from making a 32-bit build technically. All it takes is to recompile the platform-dependent packages and rebuild the image.

The demand for it is very low and shrinking though, now that affordable 64-bit boxes are common. The question therefore is whether we can make 32-bit builds easy enough to create a low maintenance build setup.

So far live-build couldn’t make images for architectures other than the on its running on. If someone finds a way to do that, it may tip the balance. Else we’d need to maintain a 32-bit host just to make those images.

Hi,

Disappointing but I can understand your position.

I would have thought that compiling for 586 should be easier than for ARM, as you don’t need a separate toolchain and 586 code runs on amd64 but I guess it is still work and more complex when there is a lot of different modules / dependencies.

nick.

You do need a separate toolchain for 32-bit x86 code. Building ARM binaries on an ARM host is just as easy as building amd64 binaries on amd64. Building i586 binaries on an amd64 host is just a little easier than building them on an ARM host, it still needs a separate toolchain and libraries, even though testing those binaries is much easier because you can run them. You could simplify it by running builds in a containers in the i586/amd64 case, but the procedures still need to be developed.
You also need a separate build host for images because live-build’s architecture option appears to have no effect, at least when you specify i586 for live-build running on an amd64 host.