Zone based firewall command line

Is there any change in the command line for zone based firewall in the latest nightly??

[edit]
vyos@vyos# set firewall zone

Configuration path: firewall [zone] is not valid

[edit]
vyos@vyos# set firewall zone

Configuration path: firewall [zone] is not valid
  Set failed

1 Like

Yeah, this caught me too. It appears to be part of a general re-factoring of the firewall code – from reading the git commit messages.

I’m relatively new to VyOS (only a few weeks of trying to use it). I am wondering if this kind of “config file/command line churn” is typical for the project. On the other hand, I may just have stumbled in at the wrong time.

It’s kind of disheartening to follow the zone-based firewall approach – supported by the config-file-as-text which allows for management by git more-or-less like code – only to find the entire supporting syntax mutate away. I’m not even sure if the underlying concepts are still valid.

Clearly, the author of the code is entitled to refactor the underlying code, no quarrel on that front from me. But churning the syntax too? Maybe I simply don’t yet know where to look for warnings about this kind of stuff.

Anyway, I was just getting more comfortable with VyOS, but am now wandering around a bit lost again…

show firewall group also broken too. I wounder It’s hard install vyos 1.4 as a stable version to test.

show firewall group 

well , these types of changes are not common but this was extremely necessary to introduce all the benefits of a powerful firewall and give more granularity our user. Evidently, the learning curve can appear intricate if one remains detached from the netfilter process. Nevertheless, upon engaging with the architecture and recognizing its wealth of possibilities, that is when the journey of comprehension truly commences:

https://wiki.nftables.org/wiki-nftables/index.php/Netfilter_hooks

we are documented it in our documentation